Sky Buster

I originally created this cocktail for a magazine I used to write for in an attempt to break into the Food & Drink category and leave the boring subjects I was writing about.  However… they did not pick it up or consider the article, and I’m still stuck writing about show dogs.

I was inspired to make this drink after spending a weekend backpacking with friends.  After we finally set up camp and had our fire built, my friend was playing guitar and I just wanted a cocktail.  Luckily I had a flask to warm me up, but I thought how cool would it be to drink a nice hot cocktail.

I wanted to stray away from making a toddy drink, and wanted to make something that you could unwind with next to fire.  And since I’m outside next to a fire and feeling super manly I thought it would pretty awesome to make something more savory or umami.

Make this drink before you head out on your trip, put it in a nice double walled thermos, and pack it next to your other essentials.

Sky Buster

1/4 Tsp Marmite

.5oz Simple Syrup

2oz Chattanooga Whiskey 1816 Cask

1oz Averna Amaro

1oz Cocchi Sweet Vermouth

1oz Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout

2 Dashes Angostura Bitters

Garnish:  Lemon Zest, Rosemary Sprig, Shiitake Mushroom

Method:  Combine all ingredients into a small pot and bring to a simmer while stirring.  Pour into your mug, and garnish.

One thought on “Sky Buster

Leave a Reply

