Marilyn Monroe

I’m a big fan of blood oranges.  My first ever knowing encounter with one was at a restaurant during brunch when I ordered a mimosa and it came out red.  I was incredibly confused.  They explained to me what a blood orange was, and I was completely amused.  I bought a few on my way home that day and just ate them.  This was before my bon vivant lifestyle began.

The inspiration from this cocktail came the other day when I was at work.  There was a woman sitting at my bar eating a blood orange.  I made a comment about it, and she asked if I wanted some.  I said no thank you, and went on my merry way.  This woman and her friend also happened to be the last people in the restaurant, so as they were leaving I held the front door open for them.   While they were walking out, one of them shook my hand and slipped me five dollars, and when they were both outside, the woman eating the orange turned to me and said, “Hey!  …catch!!!”  And she threw a blood orange at me.

One other thing in particular you should know about me is that I’m also a huge fan of whiskey.  I feel like whiskey in general gets a bad reputation when it comes to cocktails, and only in recent days have you seen that tip in the scale.  So I like to tip it a bit further in the right direction.  Juices can play a huge role in making a good whiskey cocktail.

FullSizeRender (3)

Marilyn Monroe

2oz Chattanooga Whiskey 1816 Cask

1oz Grapefruit Juice

.5oz Lemon Juice

.5oz Blood Orange Juice

.5oz Simple Syrup

2 Dashes of Peychaud’s Bitters (Or Scrappy’s Lavender Bitters)

Garnish:  Luxardo Cherry, Lemon Peel, and Sprig of Thyme

Method:  Shake all the ingredients with ice, and fine strain into a rocks glass over a large rock.  Garnish and enjoy, Mr. President.

Leave a Reply

